BIFA Freight Service Awards open for entries - Total Supply Chain Summit | Forum Events Ltd
  • TSCS
  • BIFA Freight Service Awards open for entries

    Entries are now open for the British International Freight Association’s (BIFA) annual Freight Service Awards.

    Now in their 31st year, BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in the international movement of freight by all modes of transport.

    As well as encouraging and rewarding high standards and professionalism, these awards, which are free to enter, also represent the ultimate recognition of special achievement in different sectors of the freight forwarding and logistics industry.

    Each of the eleven award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year.

    The deadline for entry is 11:00 on Tuesday, October 8, 2019 and entry forms can be downloaded from

    Finalists will be announced in late October 2019, with the winners being revealed at the BIFA Service Awards ceremony on Thursday, January 16, 2020, which has become an annual event on the industry calendar, typically attracting more than 500 BIFA members and their guests.

    Robert Keen, Director General of BIFA, said: “The awards represent the chance for the best in the industry to be recognised by their peers, and every year the standards improve. 

    “The quality and value of our awards can be judged from the fact that the category sponsors return every year – 10 of last year’s sponsors have re-signed and we have a new sponsor for the Ocean Services Category;Port Express.

    “As we organise the awards for their 31st year we anticipate a large number of entrants and a tightly fought contest.

    “Every year, after the awards have taken place, I am approached by members who say that they wish they had entered. So I would urge all members to think about their applications now, so they don’t have any regrets later.

    “The awards are an important part of BIFA’s mission to encourage our members in their pursuit of improved standards and excellence within the logistics and supply chain industry.”

    The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

    General categories

    Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers

    Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers

    Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore

    Supply Chain Management Award– sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

    Modal categories

    Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo

    European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club

    Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Port Express

    Specialist categories

    Cool award– sponsored by American Airlines Cargo

    Extra Mile award– sponsored by Descartes

    Individual categories

    Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo

    Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by Seetec Outsource

    Further information relating to entries and luncheon reservations can be obtained by visiting the BIFA website


    Stuart O'Brien

    All stories by: Stuart O'Brien

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.